Hi from Twickenham UK

Discussion in 'Welcome Wagon' started by Rob Millis, May 1, 2021.

1. Rob Millis

Rob Millis New Member

Hi all, just registered. I'm a semi-pro musician (i.e. I've got a job!) who learned guitar first from my early teens but switched to Hammond organ in my late teens after finding nobody else stupid enough to do it! Since then Hammond, Wurly electric piano and bass guitar have been my gigging instruments mainly and I'm honoured to have played with Micky Moody and Dave Kelly among others.

I've returned to guitar a lot more since trying to escape the notorious 'pub blues' gravy train and do something original. My great loves are The Beatles, San Francisco acid Rock and then the rootsy end of 70s rock: The Band, Little Feat etc.

My fondness for the SG came from the San Francsico bands where seemingly everybody played one at least for a bit. Via John Cipollina, this led me to follow (back on the home side of the pond) the Welsh band Man, wherein the late and unsurpassed Micky Jones was a prominent SG player. As a keyboard player I've been privileged to play organ in both recent incarnations of the main band and a spin off behind their Malcolm Morley. I am also delighted that James Beck, a good friend and fine guitarist who replaced (in a roundabout way) Micky, is one of the guitarists in my originals project.

Registered because I just bought and tweaked an Epiphone '61 Special anniversary model in TV yellow but I've been loitering as a casual guest browsing this excellent forum for years.

IMG_5210 copy.JPG IMG_5209 copy.JPG

2. DJGranite

DJGranite Member

Welcome

3. Go Nigel Go

Go Nigel Go Active Member

Nice Epiphone! I'm sure you will enjoy it for years to come. Love the sound of a Hammond here too but never had one myself, just some "pale immitations" on a midi keyboard that lack a lot of the flexibility and subtle nuances of the real thing.

4. Rob Millis

Rob Millis New Member