how long had you been playing?

Discussion in 'Gibson SG' started by antz, Feb 17, 2010.

1. antz

antz Member

Silly question but I thought Id ask just out of curiousity!

How long had each of you been playing before you bought your first Gibson?

I only ask because I love them and really fancy a Special faded SG but I refuse entertain the GAS until I feel Ive got to a standard I think I deserve one and I can justify spending that amount of money (I still suck ;D)

2. iblive

iblive Well-Known Member

I've been playing acoustic since about 1973.... you do the math. :)

Didn't get myself an electric till a little over a year ago and it was an Epiphone G400. Is that close enough to a Gibson SG?

3. dbb

dbb Well-Known Member

antz, I started playing guitar and bass about 1969/70 or so, and I bought my first Gibson, a used LGO small body acoustic, in 1971 and was hooked. Got my second Gibson a year later, a 335; got an SG by 1974. I always loved the feel of the necks, the sound, the whole vibe. I never bought a new one, though, always used.

If you have the bucks get it NOW - the prices won't get better, the supply of wood is limited, and that Special faded is a lot of USA made guitar for the money. You will enjoy learning on a nice guitar and your playing will improve as a result.

4. guitarweasel

guitarweasel Well-Known Member

1964 here. :-X

5. Blackie

Blackie Active Member

Don't fall for that type of thinking.......oh I am not good enogh

for a quality guitar............Get a Gibson and just having it will
    make you play more and thus become more accomplished.

if not you can get most of your dough back........

6. mdubya

mdubya Well-Known Member