Identify and refurb my old SG

Discussion in 'Gibson SG' started by Flashman, Jan 26, 2021.

1. Flashman

Flashman New Member

Evening, completely new to forum so advanced apologies for breaching any standards and length of post... I have put something similar on the Gibson forum this week, so apologies if there are any of the same audience! Having now found this SG specific site, this is probably the place to be!

I’ve had an SG for around 25 years. My brother in law gave it to me in around ‘96 when I started playing in a band. Did this (poorly) for a few years then life took hold and guitars have had limited play. Picked it up again recently when teaching son how to play and realise I need to know more about it. My brother in law has sadly passed away so I can't ask him how he came by it. But he had it when playing in a band in London in the late 70's.

Judging from online descriptions and a few checks, I’m reasonably confident now it is an authentic SG - though a few points were questioned on the other forum around the logo and body shape. There is no serial number on the back of the headstock - though it has had an awful paint job all over and it could well be under there. In the absence of this, I have looked a the volume pots and dated these to May '73. Then looking at confirmed original '73/74 standard SG's on line, there are many similarities to mine. The body is the same, the blank bell truss rod cover - 2 ply b/w, lack of neck binding, small volute (present from 69 from what I've read), Indian rosewood fretboard with mother of pearl small block inlays. I've also found examples of the thinner inlayed logo on the headstock it has, with the offset 's' and no gaps on the 'b' and 'o'. A number of other things too....so reasonably confident.

Perhaps stupidly and ignorant of maintaining original components, I replaced the pickups with some Seymour Duncan’s in about ‘99/2000....can’t remember the model.