IEM (In Ear Monitor) Question

Discussion in 'Recording Studio' started by Psychobilly444, Oct 13, 2015.

  1. Psychobilly444

    Psychobilly444 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2015
    Messages:
    572
    Likes Received:
    353
    Location:
    Northern Nevada
    This is my best guess as far as the most appropriate place to ask this. Ok, here is what I'm trying to do. I'm trying to run an IEM setup from the output on my pedalboard. I run my guitar into my pedalboard (which includes pedals, a multi-effects processor and even a rack processor) and then I run it into the effects return of my amp head (as opposed to the amp input bypassing the head's preamp section). It appears that the guitar's signal is so low power and consequently so low volume that I cannot hear it hardly at all through the headphones. I plug the IEM into my computer and it blows me away with volume. Would running the guitar signal (via the aux out jack on my pedalboard) into a headphone amp then to the transmitter of the wireless boost the signal volume?
     
  2. Psychobilly444

    Psychobilly444 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2015
    Messages:
    572
    Likes Received:
    353
    Location:
    Northern Nevada
    Guess i'm gonna try it and see.
     
  3. Six String

    Six String Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2004
    Messages:
    13,566
    Likes Received:
    1,131
    Location:
    Warsaw, In
    ....... sorry about the lack of response, but we certainly would appreciate the input on what you find out. Maybe you're in new territory. :cool:
     
  4. Psychobilly444

    Psychobilly444 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2015
    Messages:
    572
    Likes Received:
    353
    Location:
    Northern Nevada
    its ordered, ill keep you posted.
     
  5. Six String

    Six String Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2004
    Messages:
    13,566
    Likes Received:
    1,131
    Location:
    Warsaw, In
    Thanks! I love to learn new stuff and have been thinking about the in ear thingys. Never used them but ppl that have say they really make a positive difference........... :hmm:
     
  6. Psychobilly444

    Psychobilly444 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2015
    Messages:
    572
    Likes Received:
    353
    Location:
    Northern Nevada
    I used a Pyle Pro 4 channel headphone amp and at first experiment, it seems to be a lot louder. Gonna play with it a bit more, but so far so good.
    Pyle_Pro_PHA40_PHA40_4_Channel_Stereo_Headphone_1301945942000_763205.jpg
     
    Last edited: Oct 26, 2015
  7. Six String

    Six String Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2004
    Messages:
    13,566
    Likes Received:
    1,131
    Location:
    Warsaw, In
    I've used Pyle Pro and had good luck with them (8" 400W Monitors) at a very reasonable price. May need to look into them.... Thanks! :thumb:
     
  8. Psychobilly444

    Psychobilly444 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2015
    Messages:
    572
    Likes Received:
    353
    Location:
    Northern Nevada
    BTW, I used a Takstar WPM 100 (ebay special), didn't want to fork out a ton o dough on an experiment.
    takstar.jpg
     
    Last edited: Oct 26, 2015
    Six String likes this.

Share This Page