Just bought my first sg!

Discussion in 'Gibson SG' started by Cranex, Oct 5, 2020.

1. Cranex

Cranex New Member

Hi all, new here.

So.. I'm a life-long guitarist, had a few years hiatus when kids were small (I'm 44 now), but have been playing actively in a band for the last years again. Garage-ish rock.

I've had this Strat as my only guitar for 4 years, and it's been causing me heartburn with being very fiddly, not keeping it's tune and demanding constant fiddling and adjusting. I finally made the decision last week that I need a new guitar, as I noticed I didn't really enjoy playing anymore with the strat.

So today I went to the local music store, decided that I'll play through everything in my budget (under 2000€). I had this notion that a Tele is going to be my dream guitar, and I tried out several models. Only the american 50's pro felt pretty good, but I didn't have a "revelation" moment even with it. I tried out strats, a jaguar and a jazzmaster. The JM vintera was the best of the Fenders, probably because of the deeper C neck, and I also liked the tone.

But then I noticed there was this lone, black 2019 SG standard in the corner, and I thought I'd try it out while I was there. And when I started playing it I suddenly had that revelation; it just felt so right in my hands that it was unbelievable. I put it down, played a different guitar in between, and then went back to the sg. And true enough the magic was still there. The tight and raw humbucker sound felt right as well.