My name is Clint, and I'm an SG-aholic.

Discussion in 'Welcome Wagon' started by clint, Feb 26, 2007.

1. clint

clint New Member

My name is Clint, and I'm an SG-aholic. Well, not really, I only have two. Maybe I'll put up pictures one of these days.

Neoconman says I should introduce myself. I tend to ramble on, so he may regret it!

I started playing guitar in the early '80. In 1988, I bought a 1983 Gibson SG special to replace my Lotus silverburst Les Paul copy. I felt so comfortable playing the SG that I knew it was the guitar for me. All those pointy super-strats (Jackson, Kramer, Charvel, etc.) everyone else was playing at the time just felt very awkward to me. I have pretty much been an SG man ever since.

I learned from the other thread I posted that my Gibson SG special was originally an Epiphone USA SG Special that they later started selling as Gibsons. I've never seen any others like it. It is unusual in the sense that it:
    - has two volume knobs and a tone knob
    - no pickgaurd
    - seems to be made of something other than mahogany
    - it's silver
    - I bought it new for $360 (it was on sale)

Later on, after playing in too many smokey bars, the silver finish has yellowed. So now it kind of looks like a silver guitar with a boogery tint.

One day, after leaving it my truck all day at work when it was -10 degrees F, I opened my guitar case up at band practice and I instantly heard a crackling sound. The extreme temperature change caused the finish to crackle. So now it has a bunch of hairline cracks all over it.

I also accidentally tore a hole in it by the jack. I always had this problem where I would be wearing my guitar, then I would crouch down to pick something up, and not realizing I had stepped on my guitar cord, I would stand up and the plug on my cord would pry up on the jack. The last time it happpened was at a gig and it finally tore the jack out of the wood. I taped it back into place and finished the gig.