Neck shape poll (controversy encouraged)

Discussion in 'General Music' started by Col Mustard, Dec 20, 2015.

?

Is Neck Shape a deal breaker?

Poll closed Jan 19, 2016.
  1. Gotta have slim, or I'm sending it back

4 vote(s)
    12.1%
  2. Gotta have chunky, or I'm sending it back

1 vote(s)
    3.0%
  3. Gotta have something magic, or I'm sending it back

3 vote(s)
    9.1%
  4. I'm a multi instrumentalist, and for me this is a non issue

11 vote(s)
    33.3%
  5. I can play anything if I practice with it

9 vote(s)
    27.3%
  6. all of the above

2 vote(s)
    6.1%
  7. none of the above

3 vote(s)
    9.1%
  1. Col Mustard

Col Mustard Well-Known Member

all right... I've been saying for some time now that IMHO
    the human hand can play anything from a double bass to a mandolin
    with no problems.

I've been suggesting that only guitarists feel like a few milimeters of wood make
    a huge difference. and maybe that only self taught electric guitarists feel this way.
    Am I right? Confess!
    When I've given lessons, I've tried to teach my students hand positions that
    negate any 'hand size' problems, and I've done this with success.

Anyway, as a musician who plays electric, acoustic and bass guitars, I read and observe
    peoples' comments on neck shapes with perplexity. So let's add up some numbers here.

I want to see your votes, and to read your explanations. Lay it on me, brothers...

2. eS.G.

eS.G. Well-Known Member

Magic or it ain't me. So there ya have it Col. ;)

Col Mustard and JohnnyGoo like this.
  3. JohnnyGoo

JohnnyGoo Well-Known Member

i got 12 guitars sad to say and the necks run the guanlet from slim 60s to baseball bats and a tele neck.all though i prefer some over others i play them all.guitar with the best neck you ask ?? this one right here hands down. 2015 Agile AL 3010SE Goldtop 20151214_183430.jpeg

Lynurd Fireburd, zisme and eS.G. like this.
  4. eS.G.

eS.G. Well-Known Member