Need some computer help ASAP!

Discussion in 'Recording Studio' started by SGPlayer, Jun 18, 2008.

  1. SGPlayer

    SGPlayer Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2008
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Just around the corner!
    Was on the computer Sunday and it worked fine. Shut 'er down and left the house.
    Been gone for a few days and turned it back on today and it worked fine......at first.
    I started to send an email and it kinda blinked off....thought maybe it was a glitch in the
    electricity. So I shut it down and started it up again. I can log into my account, (we have 3 users
    accounts on the home computer), then it blinks off again. I shut it down and restarted it again
    and now the computer itself makes a weird beeping noise. It isn't constant, just every few seconds.
    No problems prior to today. Any help......suggestions?


    Thanks guys!


    SGP
     
  2. stuugi

    stuugi Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2006
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tampere, Finland, EU
    That is a hardware failure. Might have something to do with Menory, CPU, Display Adapter, or any other component.

    Here is an easy solution: http://www.apple.com/getamac/
     
  3. snodly

    snodly New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Warsaw, IN
    [quote author=SGPlayer link=topic=17172.msg213873#msg213873 date=1213821509]
    Was on the computer Sunday and it worked fine. Shut 'er down and left the house.
    Been gone for a few days and turned it back on today and it worked fine......at first.
    I started to send an email and it kinda blinked off....thought maybe it was a glitch in the
    electricity. So I shut it down and started it up again. I can log into my account, (we have 3 users
    accounts on the home computer), then it blinks off again. I shut it down and restarted it again
    and now the computer itself makes a weird beeping noise. It isn't constant, just every few seconds.
    No problems prior to today. Any help......suggestions?


    Thanks guys!


    SGP
    [/quote]

    Go int o the bios and see if they have any hardware tests...what kind of computer is it?
     
  4. ditto2

    ditto2 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2008
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello Sgplayer
    Write and tell the kind of computer and the operating system it uses
    Thanks
    Ditto
     
  5. xanic

    xanic New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2008
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    [quote author=stuugi link=topic=17172.msg213896#msg213896 date=1213886801]
    Here is an easy solution: http://www.apple.com/getamac/
    [/quote]
    I dont think that's the kind of solution he's looking for

    But your CPU might be overheating, thats my guess
     
  6. q-4000-SG Guy

    q-4000-SG Guy New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2007
    Messages:
    1,147
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Alpharetta GA
    doubt it would be CPU over heating when its first turned on id guess prob a hard drive problem that usualy causes the flashing screen and sudden frezeing up but it could be a number of things id just take it to get looked at at a place like geeks to go if you have them near you!
     
  7. vkgphil

    vkgphil Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2005
    Messages:
    5,097
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    in my own little world... apparently
    there is a small built in speaker on the motherboard that you are hearing the beeps from. those beeps mean something. the bios is beeping because you apparently cannot load the OS. are you seeing any messages at all on your screen before it shuts down?
     
  8. ESSER

    ESSER Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2007
    Messages:
    2,072
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    UK
    Broken clip on the PCU and fan thing causing intermittant BS.

    Well it happend to me.
     
  9. mcd

    mcd Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2006
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Manhattan
    It is definitely hardware related. My guess is that you have either a ram problem, or perhaps the battery that stores system info has failed. How old is the box, and who is the manufacturer? The other possibility is that your hard drive has failed. Normally that wouldn't have caused the machine to blink off, but it would prevent it from loading the os. I think that this is probably not the actual problem however.

    Oh, "Here is an easy solution: http://www.apple.com/getamac/" is not even close to being an answer.
     
  10. vkgphil

    vkgphil Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2005
    Messages:
    5,097
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    in my own little world... apparently
    yeah the ram thing is possible... i had that issue once when i bought some cheap ram (back when it wasnt so cheap) but i was getting those blue screens of death before it would start not booting

    and getting a mac is an answer ;D
     
  11. bradsure

    bradsure Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2007
    Messages:
    1,114
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Otter Island, South Carolina
    [quote author=ESSER link=topic=17172.msg216132#msg216132 date=1216168399]
    Broken clip on the PCU and fan thing causing intermittant BS.

    Well it happend to me.
    [/quote]
    Yea that happened to me on my laptop I keep in the ............ I sprayed WD40 on the fan and all is well now.
     
  12. ESSER

    ESSER Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2007
    Messages:
    2,072
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    UK
    [quote author=bradsure link=topic=17172.msg216146#msg216146 date=1216174143]
    Yea that happened to me on my laptop I keep in the ............ I sprayed WD40 on the fan and all is well now.
    [/quote]

    The whole thing fan and all was hanging off literally Brad, making intermittant contact with the motherboard. the fan was not actually moving.

    I think hitting it was the wrong thing to do in hindsight.

    [​IMG]
     
  13. guitarweasel

    guitarweasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2006
    Messages:
    10,839
    Likes Received:
    160
    Location:
    Back In Chicago Where I Belong!
    [quote author=ESSER link=topic=17172.msg216147#msg216147 date=1216174717]
    The whole thing fan and all was hanging off literally Brad, making intermittant contact with the motherboard. the fan was not actually moving.

    I think hitting it was the wrong thing to do in hindsight.

    [​IMG]
    [/quote]

    Hammer Time!

    [​IMG]
     
  14. Hard2Hear

    Hard2Hear Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2004
    Messages:
    838
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Northern KY
    go to www.memtest86.com/download

    The third file down is a zip file you can extract to an ISO file that will burn to a CD creating a boot disk (use nero or any cd burning program). This will test your RAM fully. It will take an hour+ but it will tell you 100% if you have bad RAM or not.
     
  15. SGPlayer

    SGPlayer Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2008
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Just around the corner!
    [quote author=mcd link=topic=17172.msg216133#msg216133 date=1216168563]
    It is definitely hardware related. My guess is that you have either a ram problem, or perhaps the battery that stores system info has failed. How old is the box, and who is the manufacturer? The other possibility is that your hard drive has failed. Normally that wouldn't have caused the machine to blink off, but it would prevent it from loading the os. I think that this is probably not the actual problem however.

    Oh, "Here is an easy solution: http://www.apple.com/getamac/" is not even close to being an answer.
    [/quote]


    You were correct! It was the ram that came on the computer.
    Back at Christmas, we bought and installed another gig of ram....everything was working fine.
    Spoke with a fellow that talked me through opening the computer up and what to do and look for.
    I removed the ram that came on the computer and I haven't had any problems since then......
    well, other than the thing is slower than **** flowing up hill!

    Any suggestions as to what I can do to speed this thing up??
     
  16. Alex

    Alex Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Messages:
    1,967
    Likes Received:
    67
    Add more memory should help. Good memory next time though :rofl: :funny:
     
  17. SGPlayer

    SGPlayer Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2008
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Just around the corner!
    :p :crazy2: :p



    smartypants!!! And what type of memory do you suggest!?!?!
     
  18. Alex

    Alex Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Messages:
    1,967
    Likes Received:
    67
    I'd start by going here: http://www.crucial.com/

    Let it scan your computer and give you some suggestions. If you are running a 32bit OS then you don't need to go over 3gb.
     
  19. SGPlayer

    SGPlayer Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2008
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Just around the corner!
    [quote author=Tom link=topic=17172.msg216197#msg216197 date=1216241704]
    I'd start by going here: http://www.crucial.com/

    Let it scan your computer and give you some suggestions. If you are running a 32bit OS then you don't need to go over 3gb.
    [/quote]


    What you just said is completely foreign. If it makes suggestions......what do I do then? How will I know which suggestions to take?
     
  20. Alex

    Alex Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Messages:
    1,967
    Likes Received:
    67
    Get the largest and fastest memory that it suggests. Bigger and faster is always good.
     

Share This Page