New Epiphone SG Special owner

Discussion in 'Epiphone SG' started by Frimpit, May 20, 2020.

1. Frimpit

Frimpit New Member

Hi all. I'm an experienced guitarist, but new to SG's. Always loved the sound and glad to finally have one. I just purchased the Epiphone Pelham Blue SG Special with the P-90's and got it yesterday. Fantastic sounding guitar, but there seems to be an issue with the neck. You see, the low-E side of the fretboard is quite a bit lower than the high E side, which is basically opposite of every other guitar I own. This necessitates having to screw the lightning bridge post, on the Low E side, as far as it can go to achieve a decent action of about 2mm at 12th fret. Meanwhile, the high E side sits a quarter of an inch higher (that side is set at 1.8 mm string height), creating a weird backward angle on the bridge, in order to mimic the angle of how the neck was attached to the body. Hopefully you can see it in the photo. Now, the action isn't bad, but it doesnt leave any room for adjustment and the low E string is quite buzzy on any fret (the other strings are not too bad) not to mention how the weird angle might cause other problems over time. Considering whether I need to return this guitar or if this is just a normal build for an Epiphone SG Special. I would be very thankful with any answers that can be provided. woooo.JPG

TheSandman likes this.
  2. donepearce

donepearce Well-Known Member

You can expect a small angle, but I've never seen an Epiphone like that before. If the bridge is bottomed out on the bass side it should go back. You need room for adjustment.

Frimpit likes this.
  3. Frimpit

Frimpit New Member

That's what I guessed. Thank you so much for your response, donepearce.

4. dub-setter

dub-setter Well-Known Member

strange...

who did set up this one....:shock:
    (maybe it just need a good set up)

what happen if you lower the high e side down and raise the
    low e up??

Frimpit likes this.
  5. Frimpit