New Member/New Project

Discussion in 'Welcome Wagon' started by oasis02, Jul 10, 2007.

1. oasis02

oasis02 Member

Hello,

I absolutely love this site for the incredible amount of useful information it contains.

I am relatively new to the hobby, and have an interest in modding my guitars. I have a Les, Strat, Ric 360, Supernova, Tele, and Sg-copy.

I purposely purchased the most inexpensive SG copy I could find, to challenge myself to make something worth playing. The results turned out fairly well, so far.

I will post some photos in the SG Copies section,

O2

2. ESSER

ESSER Active Member

Hi O2, i polish turds too. Can make some great players with a bit of fettling and swapping, enought to put the purists noses out of joint! :)

3. Six String

Six String Moderator Staff Member

Welcome to ETSG oasis02! :) :) :)

4. oasis02

oasis02 Member

Thanks for the welcome!

The "piece" I polished is getting some nice reviews at my local guitar shops. I put Burstbucker Pros in a Regal SG (I call it the Fibson), and the result is not too diabolical. My only requirements for the Regal were a solid body and neck inlays. I actually like the "shorter" bolt-on neck for playing comfort. So far, I know I'm better-off than if I had bought an Epi G-400. My next test will be against an actual Gibson at my local Guit Center.
    I committed a minor "sin" in trading my '61 Reissue for a new Ric 360, but I just had to have that Ric!
    We've got an overabundance of local Gibson shops, so I won't rule-out another true SG someday.
    Now, I'm trying to piece-together an affordable, but decent SG. I also wanted a guitar that I would not have to nanny, and be able to play outside, or after a few cocktails, and not have to worry about a few beauty marks that I might inflict. It's really serving me well for a sub $300 investment.
    Even with the great tools this site has for photos, I'm still not having any luck...

5. ESSER

ESSER Active Member