NGD! Fender Player Telecaster

Discussion in 'Other Guitars' started by Clifdawg, Apr 21, 2020.

1. Clifdawg

Clifdawg Well-Known Member

Been a while since I've come home with a new guitar! I'm a nurse at a large hospital (not on the front lines) but have been blessed to have both my job and my health (so far), and thus I decided to patronize my local music establishment with a purchase. Called and asked if they had new MIM Player Telecasters and to pick one out for me. I swung by and picked it up at the curbside, and she's a real beauty!

[​IMG]

Butterscotch Blonde (a.k.a. the best Tele color). Even got lucky and see a little bit of figuring on the headstock.

Lemme tell you, Fender has really upped their game with these new Mexican-made models. No more chintzy parts and crummy hotted-up ceramic bar pickups. This thing is solid. One thing I was shocked to see was the frets are literally perfect - level, crowned, polished, and have even had the edges filed down. The nut is immaculately cut, too. The neck is a liquid-smooth satin urethane, though I'm ambivalent of the high-gloss fretboard. I know it's not vintage-correct, but I'm loving the heavy duty steel block saddles - they're even more comfortable for palm mutes than a tune-o-matic and stopbar.

What I'm not a fan of was the 3mm (!!!) action and the 0.6mm relief that the guitar came with. Unfortunately, I can't see to find my English measurement allen keys and can't get that relief out yet (so I'm stuck with some very mild buzzing in the middle of the fretboard), but I was able to get the action down to a much more reasonable 1.5mm on every string. Also, the tone knob wasn't seated straight on the tone pot. Not sure how you manage to get perfect frets on a neck but not properly seat a knob, but it was a fifteen-second fix.