Preamp Tube Vibrating Loose

Discussion in 'Amps & Cabs' started by peterbright, Jan 21, 2007.

  1. peterbright

    peterbright Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2006
    Messages:
    1,052
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Near the Swamp in Southwest Louisiana
    Anyone other than myself have a preamp tube vibrate loose on them. Reseated it & there seems to be no lasting problems.
     
  2. guitarweasel

    guitarweasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2006
    Messages:
    10,839
    Likes Received:
    160
    Location:
    Back In Chicago Where I Belong!
    Nope.......But I did have an old Marshall that had a cracked tube in it and worked fine. Go figure.
     
  3. peterbright

    peterbright Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2006
    Messages:
    1,052
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Near the Swamp in Southwest Louisiana
    The top was cracked?
     
  4. guitarweasel

    guitarweasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2006
    Messages:
    10,839
    Likes Received:
    160
    Location:
    Back In Chicago Where I Belong!
    The whole bottom of the bottle was cracked.
     
  5. peterbright

    peterbright Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2006
    Messages:
    1,052
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Near the Swamp in Southwest Louisiana
    So the vacuum was gone?
     
  6. guitarweasel

    guitarweasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2006
    Messages:
    10,839
    Likes Received:
    160
    Location:
    Back In Chicago Where I Belong!
  7. peterbright

    peterbright Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2006
    Messages:
    1,052
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Near the Swamp in Southwest Louisiana
    And it worked fine?
     
  8. guitarweasel

    guitarweasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2006
    Messages:
    10,839
    Likes Received:
    160
    Location:
    Back In Chicago Where I Belong!
    Yep, pretty much.
     
  9. peterbright

    peterbright Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2006
    Messages:
    1,052
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Near the Swamp in Southwest Louisiana
    I would think that in any high humidity environment that there might be a problem with moisture affecting the life of the filaments if there was no vacuum.
     
  10. marty1776

    marty1776 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2005
    Messages:
    1,180
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    St. Charles, MO
    You'd think the filaments would oxidize and burn up. A buddy of mine bought some NOS phenolic tube sockets. One of the octal ones cracked on the edge b/t 2 pins. Man, he looked for a month before he saw that. I only use ceramic now. Still got phenolic's in one.
     
  11. peterbright

    peterbright Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2006
    Messages:
    1,052
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Near the Swamp in Southwest Louisiana
    Exactly.
     

Share This Page