probably the biggest newb question ever

Discussion in 'Lessons & Techniques' started by bmwlover0725, Jun 27, 2006.

1. bmwlover0725

bmwlover0725 Member

I'm gonna sound like a total beginner, which I am not... but one thing I've never been taught was a harmonic pinch... I don't understand how to do it... can anyone show me?

2. bmwlover0725

bmwlover0725 Member

alright nevermind as I just found the same question in another topic :oops:

3. walter19882003

walter19882003 Member

wheres the topic?

4. Rendus

Rendus Member

5. 1Way

1Way Active Member

[quote author=bmwlover0725 link=topic=9153.msg117996#msg117996 date=1151462509]
    alright nevermind as I just found the same question in another topic :oops:
    [/quote]
    Did you get the help you wanted? The idea is that part of the flesh of your picking finger/thumb brushes up against the string while you pick it. It's this partial deadening of the string especially at certain locations that fundamentally changes the way that string vibrates.

What happen with any sort of harmonic is that with your finger (left or right hand), you gently nudge up against the string in such a way as to distort the shape of the wavelength but without silencing the string, it keeps ringing. You can get natural harmonics with either hand but you typically only get pinched or artificial harmonics from your picking hand because you can drive the string into vibration while simultaneously slightly nudging it to get a pinched harmonic response.

I like to use humbuckers and a somewhat high gain rig which I believe makes it easier to get started in harmonics as well as controllable feedback which lets your harmonics sing on potentially forever. It's typically harder to produce lasting harmonics of any sort without a higher gain rig. The BOSS DS-1 pedal rocks for doing this sort of thing, something about even order harmonics are accentuated because of how the signal is handled in a symmetrical (or was it an asymmetrical?) fashion.