Putting A PC together.........

Discussion in 'Recording Studio' started by vic108, Dec 1, 2007.

  1. vic108

    vic108 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2004
    Messages:
    6,846
    Likes Received:
    81
    Location:
    Chincoteague, VA
    CB knows about my PC plight and has generously
    decided to send me some PC parts for Christmas.........

    Today I recieved a power supply, a mother board and a P4 3.0 chip

    here are the parts CB sent today:

    MB:
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813121319&Tpk=13-121-319

    Power Supply:
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817182088&Tpk=17-182-088

    Chip:
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16819116004&Tpk=19-116-004

    I've added stuff over the years but this will be my first build.

    So tonight I ordered some of the other stuff:

    Monitor:
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16824009094&Tpk=AL2216W

    HD:
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16822145192

    2 sticks of mem:
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820134044&Tpk=20-134-044

    Mouse:
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16826104035

    Case:
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16811147058

    CD/DVD Burner:
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16827118003

    I had a P1 166 XL Gateway until about 3 years ago.

    A friend upgraded his PC and gave me this 633 mg
    P3 with 128 ram - a screamer compared to my old one.
    This 633 is so slow now and still runs WIN98SE
    I though it was time to get a decent one.

    Any of you folks ever put one together from parts?

    So, like any insights?

    links are good choices?

    am i forgetting anything?

    parts I ordered come in on Wednesday, I'll be knee deep in this soon!
     
  2. q-4000-SG Guy

    q-4000-SG Guy New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2007
    Messages:
    1,147
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Alpharetta GA
    ya might want more memory you have 1GB now but you may want to use 1GB chips insted and you probly would want at least a 250GB Hard Drive (500 better 1tb best)
     
  3. vic108

    vic108 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2004
    Messages:
    6,846
    Likes Received:
    81
    Location:
    Chincoteague, VA
    yah think 1 gig vs 2 gig mem would make that much diff........?
     
  4. Zeppelin Rules

    Zeppelin Rules Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2005
    Messages:
    6,889
    Likes Received:
    30
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    It depends on what you're trying to do with the computer. If you're doing photoshop and video editing and things like that or games then more memory is probably better.
     
  5. vic108

    vic108 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2004
    Messages:
    6,846
    Likes Received:
    81
    Location:
    Chincoteague, VA
    I don't do anything like that yet..........

    I'm hoping the 22" WIDE SCREEN will be a treat
    as I've only worked on 17" monitors.
     
  6. guitarweasel

    guitarweasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2006
    Messages:
    10,839
    Likes Received:
    160
    Location:
    Back In Chicago Where I Belong!
    I have a 22" widescreen........You'll love it ! I don't even have to put on my glasses anymore!! ;D
     
  7. q-4000-SG Guy

    q-4000-SG Guy New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2007
    Messages:
    1,147
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Alpharetta GA
    [quote author=Zeppelin Rules link=topic=15748.msg200993#msg200993 date=1196527209]
    It depends on what you're trying to do with the computer. If you're doing photoshop and video editing and things like that or games then more memory is probably better.
    [/quote]or just running IE and outlook/Windows Mail and want to open the calculator!


    id go with this

    HD http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16822136062R or http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16822144417R
    memory x2 http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820134216

    what OS are you going to be running? Vista will almost NEED the 2GB memory and bigger HD or are you going the Linux rout? if so the small hard drive and 1gb memory will be fine!!!
     
  8. vic108

    vic108 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2004
    Messages:
    6,846
    Likes Received:
    81
    Location:
    Chincoteague, VA
    XP for OS
     
  9. 1Way

    1Way Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2004
    Messages:
    2,310
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    negotiable
    Vic
    Running XP, 1Gig Ram should be just fine. Is this going to be used for music studio stuff? If so windows pro is preferred over home/media center, but that is standard issue info. For Ram you only have 2 gigs max for upgrade so you probably wont need to upgrade Ram unless you want to upgrade the OS to Vista for example, then the 2gigs would become a serious consideration. If you upgrade to two gigs, the two half gig sticks would need to leave the PC and replaced by (most likely) two 1gigers.
     
  10. Spunky

    Spunky Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2004
    Messages:
    4,109
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Redondo Beach, California
    Vic,

    1.
    Since I used to be the Engineering Manager of a large PC corp and have personally built over 10,000 PCs I can assure you that 1 GB although it will work will be signifigantly slower than 2 GB of RAM with XP no matter what you are doing.
    Open 2 or 3 browsers and email with 1GB and time various operations add another 1GB and use the stopwatch. I'm using 568MB with only one instance of Firefox open. XP is a mem hog. If you play a game more memory is needed as well.

    2.
    The 22" widescreen is excellent and is the same model I bought for my new system.
    You will want to take advantage of the DVI-D video connection and you haven't specified a video card yet and the onboard video of that motherboard is crap. There is a PCI Express x 16 slot that you can take advantage of.
    You can download demos of the latest video games for free and play them. They will humble any PC that doesn't have a decent video card and at least 2GB of RAM. Since the data is digital, why change to analog in the video card for RGB and then convert back to digital for the LCD display. The DVI keeps it all digital throughout the signal path to your eyes.

    This video card will work great in your system.
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814130303

    there are cheaper options but try to find a card with a DVI port.

    3.
    80GB is not enough storage capacity, 500 GB is the standard now. Good deal here and I ordered a second one for music projects. Yes, I have 1 terabyte of HD now....
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16822136178

    4.
    I see you bought a wireless mouse but no keyboard.
    Might I suggest you buy a wireless combo. Here is a starter setup. I have the MX3000 and love it.
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16823126174
     
  11. vic108

    vic108 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2004
    Messages:
    6,846
    Likes Received:
    81
    Location:
    Chincoteague, VA
    Cool! TY for all the info........

    It seems, no matter who you ask, they
    look at PC's differently.

    If worse comes to worse, I can get the
    extra RAM down the road, I guess.

    The VID CARD is built in, but from what I understand
    what Spunky-san is saying, I can upgrade that too........?

    Yah, I forgot about the keyboard, that's a nice combo, Spunk.
    I was thinking of using my old MS Natural keyboard or just
    use this one - didn't even think of wireless........duh!

    I can't believe how dirt cheap MEM is now! It was sky-high
    when I bought my first PC back in the 90's.

    I haven't even started looking at speakers yet.
    Are the wireless ones OK? Any sugestions?
     
  12. Zeppelin Rules

    Zeppelin Rules Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2005
    Messages:
    6,889
    Likes Received:
    30
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    [quote author=guitarweasel link=topic=15748.msg200997#msg200997 date=1196531076]
    I have a 22" widescreen........You'll love it ! I don't even have to put on my glasses anymore!! ;D
    [/quote]

    I've got one too. Its great for watching movies and doing photoshop stuff.
     
  13. Spunky

    Spunky Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2004
    Messages:
    4,109
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Redondo Beach, California
    Speakers......

    Depends what you want them for Vic.
    I use mine for music editing and video chatting with Mrs Spunk who is still in China...due her Dec 27th.

    I used to have the Klipsch ProMedia 2.1 setup but the amp in the subwoofer died.
    http://www.amazon.com/Klipsch-ProMedia-Certified-Computer-Speaker/dp/B000062VUO
    Most excellent system..$114.53

    So I bought the Logitech Z-2300 and hated the satellite units. $96.00 There was zero midrange and the were so dang trebbly.
    So I rewired the Klipsch satellites to the Logitech subwoffer. The Klipsch was 8" and the Logitech is 10". If you setup the EQ right it is an awesome combo. But if I were to buy another set of speakers, it would be the Klipsch.
    The combo of the 2 systems is really the best but pricy...
     
  14. guitarweasel

    guitarweasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2006
    Messages:
    10,839
    Likes Received:
    160
    Location:
    Back In Chicago Where I Belong!
  15. vic108

    vic108 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2004
    Messages:
    6,846
    Likes Received:
    81
    Location:
    Chincoteague, VA
    I bought Klipsch Forte II's for my Luxman stereo amp
    years ago and love them.

    I'll check those out! COOL - TY!~
     
  16. sgtbeefheart

    sgtbeefheart Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2005
    Messages:
    4,104
    Likes Received:
    1,137
    Location:
    UK
    As others have hinted at, there's one crucial question.

    What's it for?

    I've realized I posted this without reading the second page. :oops:

    Also the spell checker made me put a Z in realised, shirley, that can't be right.
     
  17. Voxman

    Voxman Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2004
    Messages:
    14,240
    Likes Received:
    581
    Location:
    LINY and Satillite Beach
    I use Bose speakers on my puter ... and for puter recording I use KRK w/ a sub :)
     
  18. q-4000-SG Guy

    q-4000-SG Guy New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2007
    Messages:
    1,147
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Alpharetta GA
    [quote author=vic108 link=topic=15748.msg201017#msg201017 date=1196545405]
    Cool! TY for all the info........

    It seems, no matter who you ask, they
    look at PC's differently.

    If worse comes to worse, I can get the
    extra RAM down the road, I guess.

    The VID CARD is built in, but from what I understand
    what Spunky-san is saying, I can upgrade that too........?

    Yah, I forgot about the keyboard, that's a nice combo, Spunk.
    I was thinking of using my old MS Natural keyboard or just
    use this one - didn't even think of wireless........duh!

    I can't believe how dirt cheap MEM is now! It was sky-high
    when I bought my first PC back in the 90's.

    I haven't even started looking at speakers yet.
    Are the wireless ones OK? Any sugestions?
    [/quote]wireless speekers SUCK every one i have used sounds like FM raido get wired (they are cheeper too)
     
  19. Spunky

    Spunky Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2004
    Messages:
    4,109
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Redondo Beach, California
    Vic,

    The nice thing about Newegg.com is that returning items is a breeze. I bought a defective motherboard and returned it and no shipping charges either. They sent me a email with a printable prepaid return label. Seriously think about doubling the RAM to 2GB. I have an AMD 2600+ PC and after I went from 1GB to 2GB, it booted faster, was more responsive to email and internet and overall seemed like a new PC. I can't believe I suffered for 4 years with 1GB when 2GB made the experience so much nicer. RAM is dirt cheap right now.

    I have a lot of applications I use so I need the larger HD but at 99.00 plus tax and no shipping, the 500GB HD is a great deal from Newegg.com and really not that much more than what you are paying for the 80GB unit. Also I always split the boot drive into 2 partitions. One for the operating system and the other for applications and data.

    I bought an ATI 2900 video card and I'm very happy with the performance especially with the monitor. You will definately want to run the monitor at 1680 x 1050 to take advantage of it's capabilities.

    Glad you have the upgrade as it sure helps to have a new PC that performs well. ;)
     
  20. 1Way

    1Way Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2004
    Messages:
    2,310
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    negotiable
    I basically agree with Spunky, Ram is cheap, get as much as you can afford. If you only have two ram slots, I don't much like your choice of Ram (or mobo) if upgrading is a realistic option as both sticks will likely be useless if you upgrade, and resale will likely be slim on half gig sticks. Maybe he got a good deal on that mobo, but I thought that last year even 4 gig was typical max ram on many boards. I'm guessing you only have two ram slots when many have two to four slots. Are you sure you want to go with that particular motherboard? I built my PC over three years ago and it has twice as much ram capacity as yours.

    I'd check your motherboard manual to see if you can stick in one gig at a time without a performance hit, unless you want to start out with 2gig ram installed, then your ram situation would be set. It's been somewhat of a norm that you need two sticks of Ram instead of one for optimum performance, but these things change over time and with different makers/mobo's, check the manual for the mobo, most are available online. Same with hard drive, get what you can afford. 500gig is much better than 80. All this is basically assuming you want to do recording/studio stuff.
     

Share This Page