Putting A PC together.........

Discussion in 'Recording Studio' started by vic108, Dec 1, 2007.

  1. snodly

    snodly New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Warsaw, IN
    What card did you buy?
     
  2. vic108

    vic108 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2004
    Messages:
    6,846
    Likes Received:
    82
    Location:
    Chincoteague, VA
  3. SG Steve

    SG Steve Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2007
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    WV USA
    Hate to tell ya vic, but that card is trouble. Mine went back after one months use, second got about three months out of it..and this was in my office - no games!

    Send the thing back and pony up for an 8800 GT 512. It's around 250 bones, and requires a power lead from the psu. I just built a friend a system with one and it slays cod4...
     
  4. vic108

    vic108 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2004
    Messages:
    6,846
    Likes Received:
    82
    Location:
    Chincoteague, VA
    Oh man! I sure hope not!

    I hope it works. Money is tight and $99 was all I could spend on a video card at this time.

    Guess I'll unpack it careful and go rom there.........ty
     
  5. Red devil

    Red devil Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2007
    Messages:
    834
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    An igloo in the Canadian wilderness of Vancouver
    My lappy has an 8600m gt (gddr3 though) and it give pretty good COD 4 performance. BTW, with a middle end card like the 8600, it can't even use 512mb, it's just a gimmick and won't give better performance than 256mb
     
  6. SG Steve

    SG Steve Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2007
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    WV USA
    My gamer pc has an 8800 Ultra with 768mb ram. The more vid ram you have, the less the game has to off-load on to the cpu, freeing up cpu cycles for other things. The down side is it (vid card) was $650.00

    :cry:
     
  7. vic108

    vic108 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2004
    Messages:
    6,846
    Likes Received:
    82
    Location:
    Chincoteague, VA
    Well, so far the card works good with the PC in general but COD4 looks damn good.

    Anyone ever OVERCLOCK THEIR VID CARD? GOOD IDEA? PROS vs CONS?
     
  8. vkgphil

    vkgphil Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2005
    Messages:
    5,097
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    in my own little world... apparently
    dont do it
     
  9. vic108

    vic108 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2004
    Messages:
    6,846
    Likes Received:
    82
    Location:
    Chincoteague, VA
    ok, anything else?
     
  10. vkgphil

    vkgphil Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2005
    Messages:
    5,097
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    in my own little world... apparently
    uh

    i dont see any benefit to overclocking period. it might help i suppose if you are running some serious gaming gear but for what we are typically doing all you are going to accomplish is possibly/probably killing your components.

    :)

    sounds cool thou
     
  11. Red devil

    Red devil Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2007
    Messages:
    834
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    An igloo in the Canadian wilderness of Vancouver
    [quote author=SG Steve link=topic=15748.msg205134#msg205134 date=1202084687]
    My gamer pc has an 8800 Ultra with 768mb ram. The more vid ram you have, the less the game has to off-load on to the cpu, freeing up cpu cycles for other things. The down side is it (vid card) was $650.00

    :cry:

    [/quote]True, but what I meant was an 8600 is not bottlenecked by it's ram amount and anything over 256 makes no difference in performance, it just looks better to buyers. That said, the 8800 you have is a way better card and it can actually use the 728mb to it's advantage.
     
  12. SG Steve

    SG Steve Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2007
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    WV USA
    Over clocking really is detrimental to games. System instability, crashes and graphic corruption occur when the cpu and related buses are sped up. Dont waste your time doing that.

    Here's a build I completed last weekend:

    Intel C2Q6600
    4 gigs of ddr2 800
    Two Nvidia 8800 GT 512's in SLI
    160 gig sata hd
    750 watt pc power & cooling psu
    xfx 680i lt motherboard.
    $1400.00

    [img width=640 height=480]http://i229.photobucket.com/albums/ee83/stevekellyjr/pc122.jpg[/img]
    [img width=640 height=480]http://i229.photobucket.com/albums/ee83/stevekellyjr/pc001.jpg[/img]
    [img width=640 height=480]http://i229.photobucket.com/albums/ee83/stevekellyjr/pc002.jpg[/img]
    [img width=640 height=480]http://i229.photobucket.com/albums/ee83/stevekellyjr/pc005.jpg[/img]
     
  13. Red devil

    Red devil Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2007
    Messages:
    834
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    An igloo in the Canadian wilderness of Vancouver
    Nice : )

    that's a beastly fan
     
  14. vkgphil

    vkgphil Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2005
    Messages:
    5,097
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    in my own little world... apparently
    there are enough fans in that thing to create a vortex

    its gonna be pulling air thru it like a jet engine
     
  15. Red devil

    Red devil Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2007
    Messages:
    834
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    An igloo in the Canadian wilderness of Vancouver
    Slightly off topic but could anyone recommend me a good notebook cooler? My laptop's CPU is always running >60 Celcius and goes well into the 80's playing games. That can't be good right?
     
  16. Red devil

    Red devil Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2007
    Messages:
    834
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    An igloo in the Canadian wilderness of Vancouver
    Nevermind, I have discovered the wonders of undervolting the CPU. My temperature is down 10 degrees celcius!!

    BTW, the temp I gave wasn't actually the cpu core temp, it was somewhere else called thermal zone #0. Cpu core is about >10 degrees cooler.
     
  17. vic108

    vic108 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2004
    Messages:
    6,846
    Likes Received:
    82
    Location:
    Chincoteague, VA
    Man! what do you feed that thing?

    Looks hungry...........
     
  18. vkgphil

    vkgphil Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2005
    Messages:
    5,097
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    in my own little world... apparently
    [quote author=vic108 link=topic=15748.msg205621#msg205621 date=1202612558]
    Man! what do you feed that thing?

    Looks hungry...........
    [/quote]

    kittens
     
  19. snodly

    snodly New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Warsaw, IN
    [quote author=vkgphil link=topic=15748.msg205639#msg205639 date=1202652811]
    kittens
    [/quote]

    I like to feed mine cheetahs...basically its a little boost of speed. The only problem, They are hard, really hard to come by in Northern Indiana.
     
  20. Number51

    Number51 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2007
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    0
    [quote author=vkgphil link=topic=15748.msg205639#msg205639 date=1202652811]
    kittens
    [/quote]

    Leave the kittens alone. Move up the food chain. Feed it Domo-kuns.
     

Share This Page