Replacement toggle switch cap

Discussion in 'Epiphone SG' started by MarlonJD, Jun 20, 2020.

1. MarlonJD

MarlonJD New Member

Hi all,

Newbie here - sorry if this question has already been asked but I did search the forum and couldn't see that it had.

I'm looking for a replacement toggle switch cap for my 1996 SG G400. I lost the original years ago and have just done without it. I ordered a replacement switch cap made by Epiphone but it's too big for the switch and won't grip the thread. Has anyone had this problem before or does anyone know of any parts suppliers who make caps that fit?

Any help or a point in the right direction would be much appreciated.

2. Von Trapp

Von Trapp Well-Known Member

Yeah, you got a Gibson one, which is imperial and should have gotten an Epi one which is metric. You can get it anywhere, guitarfetish, ebay or what have you, just pay attention to what which kind of switch its for. Epi ones can also be labelled "import".

Last edited: Jun 20, 2020
  3. MarlonJD

MarlonJD New Member

Thanks for the rely. The one I bought was Epiphone's own which claims to fit all toggle switches. Helpfully there were no measurements or anything on the packet so I don't know if it was imperial or metric. I'll take a look for import caps and see what I can find.

4. Von Trapp

They must have sent you the wrong one then I think. Can you link to where you got it?

5. MarlonJD

MarlonJD New Member

6. Von Trapp

I see. Well, there's no indication that that one's Epiphones own so I think they sent you the wrong one or they're selling one that doesn't fit.

7. MarlonJD

MarlonJD New Member

8. Von Trapp

Weird. Could be a fake perhaps.

9. DrBGood

DrBGood Well-Known Member

dub-setter likes this.
  10. MarlonJD

MarlonJD New Member