requisite introduction thread.

Discussion in 'Welcome Wagon' started by nelsonM, Apr 5, 2007.

1. nelsonM

nelsonM Member

Hey there :)

I'm not a Guitar player (yet) or even a stringed instrument player for that matter. (I'm a Drummer)

I've wanted to lean how to play guitar for a few years now, and recently had my interest renewed enough to decide to buy a guitar. It happened while sitting with two of my band mates (rhythm and lead guitars) waiting for our bass player to call in and cancel his appearance (with a perfectly acceptable reason). I picked up a Fender Balboa Acoustic/Electric (not sure of the spelling -- can't find a picture on google either) and started making some terrible noise while trying to figure out what a chord was.

Apparently that was enough to prompt an impromptu guitar lesson from the resident string pickers. I must say, that was the fastest four hours I've experienced in quite a while Not only did I get to play with the 6-string acoustic, but I also played around with an 1980 Washburn Falcon (Apparently it's a heavy guitar... but I don't really know about that kind of thing), as well as a 12-string acoustic guitar of un-remembered make/Model.

After the lesson my un-calloused fingers were quite tender, but I kept on reaching for a guitar... That's when I informed my band mates of my decision to seriously learn the instrument. I think it will allow me to explore different angles and ideas in music, and tremendously help my overall knowledge of how music 'works,' which in turn will help me become a better drummer.