Rock and Roll Compilation Rec's, Anyone?

Ne_buddy

Reaction score
Ok, I think y'all would be just the group to ask this question. Thanks in advance for your sage advice.

Here's the deal. I'm teaching a college course on Popular Music as literature this coming term and I've got the texts ordered. I'm an English teacher, so you might say this a Dancing About Architecture course, but, hey, it's what I do.

We'll be reading the Rolling Stone Illustrated History, the Best Music Writing of 2010, and something called Popular Music: Key Concepts, which is in dictionary form (pretty heady stuff, but cool). And there will be some scholarly/lit. crit. stuff thrown in as well.

So, please let me know, what compilation or anthology would you put on reserve at the library for the students to become familiar with Rock and Roll from its earliest moments to its maturation as a major genre? Or even up until its several resurrections?

guitarweasel

Reaction score
[quote author=sgtbeefheart link=topic=21288.msg255401#msg255401 date=1294973063]
Please define "Rock and Roll".
[/quote]

rock.gif
[size=15pt]+[/size]
1767crescent_roll.jpg

Ne_buddy

Reaction score
Ok, dudes, I appreciate your appreciation for the vagaries of the term. ;D I guess I'm using the term in a narrower sense.

We are all likely aware that there are iterations of blues and country and western that precede Elvis at Sun in '54 and that these prototypes might convincingly pass for rock and roll. That's exactly what I'm looking for -- a compilation that is comfortable blurring the line (or at least tracing its trajectory) from blues & country into straight up rock and rollers like Buddy, Chuck, Elvis, Fats, Jerry, Lil' Richard, and Roy. I'm drawing the line at '63 and the British Invasion because, by then, the genre is well established.

dbb

Reaction score