Set up - Is this a regular thing?

Discussion in 'Epiphone SG' started by DaveySpeedstar, Nov 29, 2020.

Tags:
  1. DaveySpeedstar

DaveySpeedstar New Member

I’ve been playing my 2009 Epiphone G400 for a little over 2 years. I had the set up looked ar for the first time about a year ago, by a local tech who came recommended. When I collected I was told the action was fine, but the intonation needed adjusting.
    My question (as the title alludes to) is the set up something that needs looking at periodically? If so how often should I look to having it done?

2. chilipeppermaniac

chilipeppermaniac Well-Known Member

Likely will depend on the climate you live in and play in as the biggest factor.
    Humidity, Dry vs high humidity. Also heat vs cold.

As for intonation, that is likely to be a subject some other more tech savvy members can post about.
    MY guess is basically it is geometry. One intonates by adjusting the saddles on the bridge to get the notes to be in tune at the 12th fret the same as open tuning. If the neck is flat the length will be greater than if the neck pulls into a slight bow. So, basically the neck needs to be where you want it straight wise, then string heights set, intonation set, pickup heights set and so on.

I'd say it is up to the player and his environment and his needs that will dictate how often a set up is needed.

3. chilipeppermaniac

4. DrBGood

DrBGood Well-Known Member

This for me means twice a year, when I turn heating in the house on, then off. r I could choose to play certain guitars only in winter and others only summers. Nahhh .. I make neccessary adjustments, mostly a tiny truss rod tweak.

chilipeppermaniac likes this.
  5. chilipeppermaniac

6. chilipeppermaniac

Sometimes it is good to go to a good qualified tech and get it done to the T the first time. Then he can explain all the guitar needed and the player can take it from there on later tune ups on his own.