SG neck heel joint

Discussion in 'Vintage SG' started by Mmurf, Jan 22, 2017.

1. Mmurf

Mmurf New Member

IMG_4944.JPG IMG_4945.JPG Hi All,
    New to your forum. I've seen other posts regarding heel neck/joint issues.

I just picked up this 86 reissue. 100% original. Even has the chainsaw case. The original plastic cover is still on the control cover plate. Anyway, the guy sold it to me at a pretty good price. Because he thought the neck appeared to be separating from the body. I checked it over after getting it home. Seems to me to be just finish cracks. Removed the neck pup. No signs of anything wrong at the joint. Neck seems stable. No signs of guitar being dropped. In fact, the body is is pretty good condition overall. Did a set up. Plays as you'd expect. Like butter. What say you SG guru's out ther? Photos attached.

2. DPaulCustom

DPaulCustom Active Member

I'm no expert, so I'll defer to others.
    That doesn't look like just finish cracks to me though.
    The cracks start at about the same point on both sides of the neck.
    The crack doesn't go up toward the fret board, only around the bottom of the pocket.

3. Mmurf

Mmurf New Member

Thanks for the input. Yeah. I understand what your saying. I'm trying to convince myself that it's stress crack in the finish brought on by neck bends.

4. syscokid

syscokid Well-Known Member

I'm no expert, but those pics look scary to me... :ohno:

I wonder what a pro would have to do to make the right determination?

5. sgluvr

sgluvr Member

Those are real cracks in the wood. I have a repaired '65 SG special that has that exact crack on the side of the area where the neck meets the body. It was professionally repaired with dowels before I bought it and is now completely stabilized. The wood is thin in that area.

6. Mmurf

Mmurf New Member

Thanks. How much did the repair cost? If you don't mind me asking.

7. ypnos

ypnos Well-Known Member