SGs from the 1970s Norlin Era. Pros and Cons.

Discussion in 'Gibson SG' started by SG Champagne, Jan 8, 2010.

1. SG Champagne

SG Champagne Active Member

Hello, all. I own only one Gibson guitar: June 1979 Standard SG with Cherry finish and stop tailpiece. I bought it used in 1980 for $300. It has no mods whatsoever and is in completely stock condition. The finish is in fine condition with no belt buckle wear on the back. I've played the guitar very little, really, even though I like it a lot. I started playing Fenders about 12 years ago and I forgot how much I like my 79 SG.

So here we are in 2010 and I've been reading on-line about this era of SGs. This is not a very highly regarded era for SGs. I'm not sure why. My SG is a fine instrument. The pickups are the Super Humbucking pups that the great Bill Lawrence had a hand in designing, and, Mr. Lawrence is a total GURU when it comes to electric guitar electric components. The tuners are Grover. The Schaller bridge and the pups are both made in West Germany, I think.
    These are top notch components!

What are some of the thoughts of the groups with regard to Norlin Gibsons: Why the "bad rap"? Aren't they in fact excellent guitars? Any other musings on this issue?

Thanks.

RyMo likes this.
  2. Zeppelin Rules

Zeppelin Rules Active Member

I think a lot of it has to do with the period in the mid 70s, by the later years they had gotten a bit better.

There were numerous reports of bad quality control, and guitars made out of 3, 4, and even 5 slabs of wood.

They also made some unpopular looking design changes.

3. njpaulc

njpaulc Well-Known Member

Look at Guitars like the SG1 and SG2. The SG models that were front routed and had the controls mounted on a plastic plate. The tendency to remove as much carving and contouring from the SG body, turning it into a slab. The BIG head. Pancake Les Pauls. Just a lot of bad decisions.

PermissionToLand likes this.
  4. SG Champagne