So, I'm gonna start teaching guitar...

Discussion in 'Lessons & Techniques' started by smitty_p, Nov 23, 2014.

1. smitty_p

smitty_p Well-Known Member

...to my daughter.

So, for anyone who teaches guitar, what are some good materials I could use to help me, as the instructor?

I was largely self-taught, so I can't really use my own experiences, other than to try to not pass on my mistakes. I did take lessons for a few years; however, so that helps.

Luckily, my daughter already plays piano and some flute, so she is not new to music, per se.

iblive likes this.
  2. Dorian

Dorian Active Member

That's wonderful! How old is she, and what type of music does she like?

I had music lessons from age 6 to 14 for piano (solo) and trumpet (in band), but I spent most of my time working on pieces I didn't like. When I got a piece I liked, after a short time my teacher declared it "finished", and then moved on to something else.

3. JohnnyGoo

JohnnyGoo Well-Known Member

Thats good of you Smitty.plus its quality time with your daughter.i have 3 kids and when they were from about 11,12 and 13 i bought one a drum set,one a bass and the other a guitar.then wed set up this stuff on a addition i was building on the house and preceed to rock.we would play,well attept to play Sabbath,AC/DC ect.it was crude and pretty bad but we had a blast.i was like the Jack Black of the house lol.Rock on man and have fun

eS.G. likes this.
  4. iblive

iblive Well-Known Member

PM Kevy Nova. It's what he does for a
    living. Pretty sure he has a boat load of suggestions.

5. eS.G.

eS.G. Well-Known Member

Kevy---kevy---kevy!!!!:dude::dude:

Or would that be Head Master Nova?????:applause:

6. smitty_p

Thanks, Dorian.