three monitor question

Discussion in 'Recording Studio' started by vkgphil, Aug 31, 2008.

  1. vkgphil

    vkgphil Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2005
    Messages:
    5,097
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    in my own little world... apparently
    im in the process of googling this with no success yet...

    ive been running duel monitors via a GeForce FX5500 with good success on my XP desktop machine. its an AGP card.

    now i have in another room collecting dust a nice 19" widescreen lcd monitor that i use occasionally with my laptop. so i think, hey why not plug that into the vga port on the back of the integrated motherboard, which is an MSI board, i cant see the model number.

    why do this? i figure i can use the widescreen monitor or tv or video and the other two for my normal pursuits (you never can have enough screen real estate if you ask me)

    anyway, no luck. with the geforce installed the integrated video card apparently is disabled. take the card out and the integraded video works. ok, so i look in the bios and i try to see if there is a setting to change there to allow both to run. its set to pci so i change it to agp. no change. the device manager only sees the agp card, i forgot to look at what it shows w/o the card in.

    :dontknow:

    so currently then short of finding the software solution is to stick with the duel. i have a pci slot available. i wonder if i can get a pci video card that would resolve my issue. this board doesnt have many slots, only the one agp (next time i am going for the additional slots -- $&@#)

    anyway if someone here by chance has an idea on this let me know.
     
  2. bradsure

    bradsure Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2007
    Messages:
    1,114
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Otter Island, South Carolina
    you lost me after 'yet'. ???










    Still nothing. :-\
     
  3. Constellation80

    Constellation80 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2005
    Messages:
    866
    Likes Received:
    0
    Does your motherboard have 2 AGP slots? you will need to run another video card.
    or you can hook them up through USB, here's a link http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lnycEPymZF8

    Your motherboards intergrated videocard won't work, because the bios
     
  4. vkgphil

    vkgphil Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2005
    Messages:
    5,097
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    in my own little world... apparently
    no just one agp slot dammit >:(

    i was looking at pci card prices. just about all cards have dual support and they are cheap! :) so off to the store tomorrow!!!
     
  5. Constellation80

    Constellation80 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2005
    Messages:
    866
    Likes Received:
    0
    you'll actually need a new motherboard. When it says PCI for video cards, I belive they mean PCI Express.
    Which has a higher bus rate.
     
  6. vkgphil

    vkgphil Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2005
    Messages:
    5,097
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    in my own little world... apparently
    yep i saw that today as well... im not going to get a new mb for this

    no biggie deal
     
  7. Constellation80

    Constellation80 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2005
    Messages:
    866
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well you could still try daisey chaining them through the USB, though it might be slow for gaming
     
  8. vkgphil

    vkgphil Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2005
    Messages:
    5,097
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    in my own little world... apparently
    not familiar with this daisy chaining. not gaming so unless pages/windows are slow to render maybe that would work
     

Share This Page