To Plek, or not to Plek.

Discussion in 'The Backstage' started by Paul Hickman, Mar 4, 2021.

1. Paul Hickman

Paul Hickman Member

I just read an online description of this process. And being a machinist, I take issue with a few of the claims.
    One company claims .0005" difference in your fret levels can cause buzzing.....BULL ****! A human hair is .0035" approx. Noway .0005" is gonna do ****! Heat and humidity changes just from day, and night can cause measurement changes larger than that. And besides the fret board is wood, it's going to grow, and shrink.
    They claim that they measure the neck in over 6000 places for a detailed model of the neck.
    Hell we don't measure parts for the Space industry that closely.....more marketing BS.

Now for me, I've always leveled my frets by hand, and using a capo as a stop, continued leveling, and moving the capo down the neck giving me an ever so slight taper to the fret height as you go down the neck. I.e 1st fret is slightly taller than the 2nd, and so on.
    For craps sake, those super duper aerospace tolerances are going to go to crap as soon as you leave the room the guitar Plekd in.

2. pancake81

pancake81 Well-Known Member

No doubt there is some marketing BS in there. I think the take home message is the machine is precise and does a much better job than Tony in the back room.

All but one of my guitars are NOT pleked. They are all set up properly and play great. My guitar that is pleked, plays fantastic as well.

If you have me 10 guitars and said one is pleked, which one is it. Friggen no one could tell; they would all point and guess.

I like the idea, and would never shy away from buying a pleked guitar or Having it done as part of a set up.

3. Paul Hickman

Paul Hickman Member

I understand Plekd in the manufacturing process, to maintain consistency, but it's still wood, and wood moves. Have you ever seen the results of a CNC machine that burped its programming mid cycle?

4. pancake81