Trouble balancing the Epiphone Vintage G-400 SG

Discussion in 'Epiphone SG' started by Miguel, May 30, 2020.

1. Miguel

Miguel New Member

Hi everyone.

I'm a beginner guitarist, and until today, I've been playing an Yamaha Pacifica 112V until today with no special issues.

I like a lot hard rock style music (AC/DC fan) and I was "romancing" a Epiphone SG Vintage G-400 for some time in a local respected Luthier that also sells guitars in second hand. This one was in mint condition, with a nice setup, and today I brought it home! :)

Well, the issue, is that I'm feeling quite uncomfortable playing the guitar due to the weight on the head of the guitar, which in constantly pushing down.
    Normally I practice seated in a guitar bench, with the guitar resting on my right leg with the Yamaha Pacifica, and on the right leg with the classical (sometimes I also rest the electric on that leg).
    I've tried the SG both ways, resting on my right and left leg and I didn't feel comfortable in either position. Also tried to use a strap to try help keep the guitar balanced, but didn't help either.
    So right now, I have to constantly control the balance with my right forearm (I'm right handed), and after playing for about half an hour I was feeling the right upper back (Rhomboids) tensed and contracted and decided to stop.

Does anyone can give me some ideas in order to control the balance of the guitar?

Thank you in advance for your help!

Regards,
    Miguel

Misanthrope likes this.
  2. DrBGood

DrBGood Well-Known Member

Just because you mentionned it, I had to check. Damned ... forums will do that to you.

I've been playing a long time and that never bothered me. But I checked anyways and all the guitars you see in this photo do have a tendency to neck dive when resting on my right thigh, if I raise both arms off the guitar. Even the heavy bodied Jr LP.

2020-03-01.jpg