Uh oh...

Discussion in 'Recording Studio' started by 74 Jailbreak, Sep 18, 2007.

1. 74 Jailbreak

74 Jailbreak Member

Alright guys... I've read over every thread here. But...

I'm still a complete recording noob. With my birthday/Christmas around the corner, I'm looking into getting some equipment. Any ideas? Remember, I know absolutly nothing about this stuff... And I'm running on Windows XP, if that helps anything...

2. Red devil

Red devil Member

An igloo in the Canadian wilderness of Vancouver
    What do you want to do with it?

Record guitar riffs?
    Record an album?

3. sgtbeefheart

sgtbeefheart Well-Known Member

Do you have a sound card plugged in, or on board sound.

If a card, what is it?

I have a Creative Labs Audigy2 Platinum Ex.

My guitar goes into an effects unit with all effects turned off, just to get the volume up, and into the Mic input.

Some people recommend a pre-amp, but they're not cheap.

I can't mic up my amp because of neighbours, so this works for me.

I then use Amplitube (www.amplitube.com) to simulate my amp and speaker, and add any effects I want, and record into my midi/sample sequencer Making Waves, Studio version (http://tinyurl.com/2hdnkj).

Other People use other apps and methods, and someone else should be along with they're own ideas.

4. 1Way

1Way Active Member

sgtbeefheart
    I am trying the demo of amplitube currently. But I have a problem with way too much static when I try to use it. I'm using somewhat expensive headphones. I know it has a noise gate, but that program seems extremely noisy. So much so that I can't enjoy using it even though I'd really like to use it. My raw guitar signal is plain as the day is long, but without noise until I open up Amplitube demo.

5. Antti

Antti New Member

[quote author=1Way link=topic=15046.msg201842#msg201842 date=1197562462]
    sgtbeefheart