Value for gigging SG

Discussion in 'Gibson SG' started by Firsttrain, Feb 13, 2018.

1. Firsttrain

Firsttrain New Member

I'm a local gigging musician who plays out 2-4 times a month in a blues, soul (sometimes rock n' roll country) band. My main plank is a 92 studio Lester I refined as a burst and modded the pups out of phase Peter Green style. I also have a strat but heavily favor bucker gibsons. I really want to introduce an SG to the mix, for some added spank in the tone.

I played a custom shop SG that I loved but was way to expensive. I would like to have different pickups in the SG than the 490 R/Ts in my lester... I like the 57 Classics a lot. I also like the '61 reissue looks.

So any advice on SG models that might fit the bill for this purpose that are good return for value... or other suggestions?

Thanks,
    John

2. Paul G.

Paul G. Well-Known Member

Used 2013 Standard. Pretty close to the Custom Shop. Here is my standard next to a Custom Shop reissue for reference. We played these two back-to-back and they sounded prettty much the same. The Standard (left) has a slimmer neck and body than the Custom shop, but you'd only notice that if you had them in the same room.

Since this photo was taken, I've replaced the pickguard with a wide-bevel version from Creamtone so it looks even closer.

20180113_123755.jpg.jpg

xland, tristesse, Dale and 3 others like this.
  3. drown

drown Well-Known Member

2014 SGJ can be had for between 400- 500$ in most city on CL. Almost the only guitar with stock 61 pickups if you like those...I do, by far the cheapest. Great value Gibson SG IMO.

Col Mustard likes this.
  4. Col Mustard

Col Mustard Well-Known Member

I'm a fan of the '61 ReIssue... A used one ought to retain its value
    unless you mod it. IMHO this is one of the best guitars Gibson has
    ever made. It will do whatever you ask of it, bone stock.

If you're looking for one to mod, then you can usually find an SG faded special