Vista anyone?

Discussion in 'Recording Studio' started by vkgphil, Mar 12, 2007.

  1. vkgphil

    vkgphil Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2005
    Messages:
    5,097
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    in my own little world... apparently
    when I had my laptop built for me last Dec (a dell xps 1210) it was made "windows vista capable" and includes a free upgrade to vista

    the upgrade kit is on its way to me

    who's got vista and is it really worth upgrading to over xp media center

    since this xps is 'capable' all the hardware etc is supposed to be correct for running vista (as opposed to compatible which runs the minimal features/performance for vista)

    i dont have too much data on here to back up, i have held off putting too much on it bearing the possiblity of upgrading in mind.

    i havent put much on it in the way of software either. i think office 2003 and line6 stuff is about the extent of
    non-shipped aps installed.

    does photoshop cs2 run well on vista?
     
  2. scnuke

    scnuke Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2006
    Messages:
    167
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sunny FL
    I just got a Gateway Media Center desktop PC last weekend, and after talking to the sales guy, I decided to stick with my XP Media Center edition.
    My new one has the horsepower to run Vista by the specs, but to get the most out of the premium edition he recommended 2 gigs RAM, mine came with 1, but I plan on sticking in at least 1 more, but it will handle up to 4 and since I have a crapload of software apps, I might run into compatibility issues, some known and others yet to be discovered.
    My processor is the P-4, 3ghz dual core and I can really tell the difference over my old AMD when I am doing a lot of multitasking.
    I'm perfectly happy with XP MC and won't be in any hurry to move to Vista.
     
  3. Bonfire

    Bonfire Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2006
    Messages:
    1,381
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Victoria, Australia
    Same here. XP is doing fine, no major problems, so i dont feel the need to upgrade.

    If it aint broke, dont fix it!
     
  4. Alex

    Alex Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Messages:
    1,967
    Likes Received:
    67
  5. vkgphil

    vkgphil Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2005
    Messages:
    5,097
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    in my own little world... apparently
    the only reason im considering is because im getting a freebee upgrade
     
  6. playn4fun

    playn4fun New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2007
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Florida
    The key is will all your software run under Vista? Your hardware (current) supports it. If you add a scanner or some other hardware, it may or may not have Vista drivers. Not many companies are jumping out there quickly on periferals. You can always put it on the shelf till you have no doubts!
     
  7. madguitarsolo

    madguitarsolo Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Messages:
    1,608
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    UK
    I just went and got a new pc today, with Vista on. I'm really pleased with this OS, and the programs I usually run work OK - but I haven't installed 3 of the programs yet.
     
  8. SheppardsLegion

    SheppardsLegion Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2006
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Newfoundland, Canada
    Been running it for the past 2 months with no issues. Be sure to download all of the updates though.


    Shepp
     
  9. ESSER

    ESSER Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2007
    Messages:
    2,072
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    UK
  10. guitarweasel

    guitarweasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2006
    Messages:
    10,839
    Likes Received:
    161
    Location:
    Back In Chicago Where I Belong!
  11. vkgphil

    vkgphil Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2005
    Messages:
    5,097
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    in my own little world... apparently
    good video ess

    i am downloading a copy of the sygate personal firewall the dude talked about in there

    i have my upgrade vista disc but never installed it

    dont think im gonna

    this thing is running great, no sense fixing something that aint broke
     
  12. sgtbeefheart

    sgtbeefheart Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2005
    Messages:
    4,104
    Likes Received:
    1,140
    Location:
    UK
    I go back to Win 3.1, and I've always waited two years to upgade to the latest Windows version.

    It always takes that long for it to get fixed so it works.

    Microsoft always have to wait for the results to come through from their quality control department, the people who buy it.
     
  13. ESSER

    ESSER Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2007
    Messages:
    2,072
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    UK
    cool Phil. same here: running ok for once so darent touch it


    Sarge. I wonder if they got 3.1 simulators yet. I like a bit of Nostalgia.
     
  14. q-4000-SG Guy

    q-4000-SG Guy New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2007
    Messages:
    1,147
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Alpharetta GA
    Vista has issues but its getting sorted out i have yet to see a sucusefull upgrade everyone i have known to upgrade had to do so by re fromating the hard drive or they had major problems my XPS came with XP and i have Vista/Xandros on it now but it took a bit to get it to run correctly
     
  15. sgtbeefheart

    sgtbeefheart Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2005
    Messages:
    4,104
    Likes Received:
    1,140
    Location:
    UK
    [quote author=ESSER link=topic=12748.msg181690#msg181690 date=1182732395]
    cool Phil. same here: running ok for once so darent touch it


    Sarge. I wonder if they got 3.1 simulators yet. I like a bit of Nostalgia.
    [/quote]

    I've got a DEC Hi-Note Ultra 2 laptop with Windows 3.1, and only one program installed on it.

    Who can guess which one?
     
  16. oldrockfan

    oldrockfan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2007
    Messages:
    6,620
    Likes Received:
    1,059
    Location:
    Texas
    Im not a computer pro and so am sticking to XP. Besides, I don't want the hassle of either loading a crapload or drivers or buying new versions of all my software. I have some buddies who are IT guys and they are now running vista but then again, they have the knowledge and time to make the transition. I really don't have either.
     
  17. sgtbeefheart

    sgtbeefheart Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2005
    Messages:
    4,104
    Likes Received:
    1,140
    Location:
    UK
    [quote author=ESSER link=topic=12748.msg181690#msg181690 date=1182732395]
    cool Phil. same here: running ok for once so darent touch it


    Sarge. I wonder if they got 3.1 simulators yet. I like a bit of Nostalgia.
    [/quote]

    I've just remembered DOSbox.

    I think most win 3.1 games ran in dos, so this would probably do the job.

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/DOSBox

    http://sourceforge.net/projects/dosbox


    BTW, my 3.1 laptop only has Doom 1 on it.
     
  18. snodly

    snodly New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Warsaw, IN
    [quote author=q-4000-SG Guy link=topic=12748.msg200123#msg200123 date=1195837579]
    Vista has issues but its getting sorted out i have yet to see a sucusefull upgrade everyone i have known to upgrade had to do so by re fromating the hard drive or they had major problems my XPS came with XP and i have Vista/Xandros on it now but it took a bit to get it to run correctly
    [/quote]

    I found out about two months ago from a friend of mine thats going to school for computer programming that in about a year everyone who has upgraded to vista wil be preety much boned when the new file system comes out. What I got from him was that everyone will have to reformat Again, and start over...I'm not certain but I'm gonna stick to the XP Media Center for as long as I can...
     
  19. vkgphil

    vkgphil Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2005
    Messages:
    5,097
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    in my own little world... apparently
    i have yet to see one shred of good news about vista to date. i am so glad i did not attempt to upgrade to it

    :)
     
  20. snodly

    snodly New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Warsaw, IN
    [quote author=vkgphil link=topic=12748.msg204178#msg204178 date=1200700862]
    i have yet to see one shred of good news about vista to date. i am so glad i did not attempt to upgrade to it

    :)

    [/quote]
    Amen
     

Share This Page