Your latest newbie and his Fool

Discussion in 'Welcome Wagon' started by frequentflyer909, Apr 24, 2007.

1. Greeties,

And thanks for reading my introduction. I come to EverythingSG.com upon the recommendation of a fellow poster at the GretschPages.com.

I don't do much in the way of discussion boards 'n' groups, so you probably won't see me very often, but I'll drop in from time to time. A visiting relative, as it were.

Let's see, you folks want to know stuff about your members - shed a little of the anonymity. That's great -- most places don't ask. I'm in Baltimore, came up from the Gulf Coast in '03. I didn't start playing guitar until I was 25; for better or worse, I'm self-taught, and until the last few years was merely a happy, simple acoustic chord-banger. Although I've owned electric guitars since the mid-80's, I only started goofing with them with any sense of purpose just seven years ago... at age 46. I'm a hopeless hack when forced out of the rhythm/accompanying guitar role. :)

The music that I play is rock and roll from the dawn of the days -- '50's and '60's, primarily. I'm not a songwriter, so everything's a cover to me... and I've never worked with a songwriter who was actually good, so I'm not likely to be seen pursuing "original" music. Give me some rootsy stuff, some folk rock, some rockabilly, some Fabs, and the occasional dose of garage and psychedelia.

The sounds in my head are vintage sounds. Mostly, I play Gretsches (5 in the stable)... but not exclusively. My acoustic is a Gibson jumbo, my 12-string is a Rickenbacker electric, there's always a Hofner bass on hand. Yes, the arsenal is rather Beatlerific, though my amps of choice are Fender (Showman and Vibrolux), not Vox AC30's (not that there's anything wrong with them); and I do keep some repro-retro-vibe creatures in the playpen -- a Metropolitan Tanglewood Custom and an Eastwood Supro Coronado. I also play a little organ, and it can be nothing but a Vox Continental.